I love cranberries.  I love apples.  I love oatmeal cookies {which happen to be exactly what the top of this conglomerate of yum tastes like}

What is that?  You do too??

You know what else I love?

Trivial thoughts.  Fortuitous facts.  Purportless pondering.

{…and apparently alliteration.}

For example:  Did you know that the name “cranberry” was derived from the original spelling “craneberry”,  dubbed so by some of the first settlers to America who thought the flowering part of this plant resembled the neck and bill of a crane?

Seriously.  I couldn’t make this up if I tried.

Did you also know that a riot broke out over those $2 waffle makers I told you about on Black Friday?  I’m so glad someone was able to get this on video.  Definitely a memory I want to hold on to.  Look for me, I’m the one in the hot pink windsuit.

{maybe I could make this up if I tried…}

Here’s to a wonderfully homey recipe and cuddling with my waffle maker.  #enjoy

Cranberry Apple Oatmeal Crisp

- 1 (12-ounce) bag fresh cranberries
- 3 Granny Smith apples, diced
- 1 cup white sugar
- 3 Tablespoons flour
- juice & zest of 1 orange

for the topping
- 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
- 1/2 cup flour
- 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
- 1/2 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine the cranberries, apples, and orange juice, and set aside. In another small bowl, combine the flour, sugar, and orange zest. Stir the sugar mixture into the fruit, coating well, then pour into a deep baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

For the crisp topping, combine the oats, flour, brown sugar, and butter in a small bowl. Spread the topping mixture evenly over the fruit. Bake uncovered for 1 hour. After baking, allow the crisp to cool for at least 15 minutes before serving.

{serves 8}

Source: Food Family Finds

